Disconnected Drawing

Sadly, with the stress of finals week coming up I didn’t get a chance to disconnect this week. I’m the worst, I know. However, that won’t stop me from making a post about what i SHOULD and COULD have done.

eyes hibernate april

This is one of my all time favorite activities and beloved hobby of mine. It’s as simple as turning on some good music, locking myself away from the rest of the world, curling up with a sketchbook and pencils, and drawing.

Trust me, this doesn’t have to be anything fancy. If you’re not the best artist, don’t get discouraged. Maybe even spend your hour focusing on sharpening your skills on drawing one specific thing with tutorials. Just get out a pencil and paper and go for it. It is such a good stress reliever. Don’t worry about making it pretty or nice looking, just let everything out on the page.

If you’re seriously worried about your creative juices flowing try a coloring book. I know a lot of you probably haven’t touched a coloring book since the age of seven but I know quite a few college kids who have coloring books laying around for when they are particularly stressed. If you have a little money to spend I strongly suggest looking into Keri Smith books. I personally own Wreck This Journal and it is always helpful when I’m not feeling very creative.

Opening page of my Wreck This Journal book

Opening page of my Wreck This Journal book

Any form of creating art–whether it’s painting, sketching, sculpting, making ceramics (the list could go on and on) is a great distraction from everyday life. Not many people take the time to really create something. The feeling of accomplishment you get when you’re done is so good. And if you keep up with it, it is so rewarding to see your work improve. Maybe even check out my classmate Melissa’s blog for some pointers.

Heads up as I sign off for tonight: next week’s post will be coming at you Friday, instead of Thursday. It will be kind of a roundup of how to incorporate technology into your life without it taking over. It will be a farewell post and the last one for the blog. I would love to get comments from you guys about what you think of the blog. Maybe you can even convince me to keep it going after the holidays.

Until next time,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

