Fall Treats

141104_0007With the temperature dropping and the leaves changing I thought it was about time I did a nice fall post. And what better way to celebrate a new season than with food? Honestly, I think food is the best way to celebrate anything but that is beside the point. So I wrangled my sister, Meagan, into making “Bacon Wrapped Goat Cheese Stuffed Figs.” That’s kind of a mouthful to say but they’re also a delicious mouthful to eat so it’s pretty fitting.

I wish I could say that this recipe is more complex than when I made fruity pebble treats but that isn’t really the case. These delicious little things only take three ingredients and about 30 minutes to make. So everything is still going to be super simple!

So my sister and I first tried these at a friends party and finally decided to look up the recipe. We ended up deciding on this one and set off to the store to get ingredients. This recipe is literally so easy that I’m not going to break it down here, I’m just going to expand on Meagan and I’s experience.

141104_0000

Dried calimyrna figs, garlic and herb goat cheese, and the cheapest smoked bacon we could find.

First things first, we put away our phones and computers and set off to the grocery store. I don’t remember exactly how much we spent on the ingredients (we maybe impulse bought a couple other items) but it wasn’t bank-breaking by any stretch of the imagination. That being said, these are perfect holiday party treats so splurging on some better ingredients may not be that bad of an idea.

All you have to do in the preparation of these little suckers is slice them open, stuff them with the cheese, and wrap ’em up in bacon. Meagan and I took only a few liberties with the recipes. The first, and most important, being that we cut our bacon in halves instead of thirds. We went for halves because the more bacon the better. That’s really the only reason. Since our figs were more heavily bacon wrapped we also cooked them in the oven for about 5 minutes more than suggested. It’s really easy to tell just by looking when they’re done though.

141104_0006All in all, prep time and baking time did not take an entire hour without technology. When they got done the entire time spent prepping and cooking was roughly half an hour. However, once they came out of the oven we were so focused on stuffing out faces with figs we definitely didn’t bother checking missed calls or new texts. Mission accomplished for making delicious food and stickin’ it to technology with my big sis.

I really suggest making these for the holidays. They seem a lot classier than what it actually takes to make them. You’ll probably impress all your friends if you show up to a party with them.

Let me know if you guys have any suggestions of food or crafts I could make, or adventures I could take for upcoming blog posts. Also, let me know how you’ve been getting away from technology and the progress you’ve made. I’d love to hear from all of you lovely followers!

Until next time,

Rachel

5 thoughts on “Fall Treats

Leave a Reply

