Progress So Far

Hey everyone,

This week’s post is going to be a little bit different. Instead of telling you how I’ve spent an hour away from my technology this week, I’m going to do an overview of my progress so far. It’s about halfway through the semester so I think it’s a good time to really reflect on how this blog has affected me.

The most progress I’ve made has definitely been with my cellphone. For instance, the last three days my phone has been dead and I haven’t felt the need to charge it, although that may have been some laziness too. I think the largest indication of my progress is that I no longer feel the need to check my phone when waiting. I don’t pull it out in the five minutes I have before class, I don’t check it in line at the grocery store, and I keep it in my purse when I’m out and about with friends. In general, my phone just stays away a lot more often than it used to. This is pretty awesome considering the fact that last year, a study was done that found people check their phones 150 times a day. That’s insane.

I found a nifty little article with a list on ways to tell if you’re addicted to your phone. And I think it’s actually a pretty good one, so I’m gonna break it down here:

  1. Do you panic when you’ve misplaced your phone? I can’t tell you how often I used to freak out after misplacing my phone for just a minute. There have been times when I freaked out thinking I lost my phone only to remember it was in my hand. Now, I don’t really have a problem with not knowing where my phone is. I usually just tell myself that it’s upstairs in my room or still in my backpack from school. And I don’t feel the need to go find it unless I actually need it to make a call or text someone.
  2. Are you on your phone during social situation or in the presence of your family? I’ve done a post on both of these situations already: one about friends and one (a little bit) about family. I cannot stress how important it is to be present in these situations. Put down the phone and actually interact with your loved ones! It makes a big impact and sends the message that you really care about them and want to give them all of your attention. Things are going to get real for a second: You never know when the last time you’ll be with someone is, don’t waste it Instagramming your food instead of interacting with them.
  3. Do you carry your phone everywhere, even to the bathroom? There have been times when I’ve gotten up to go the bathroom and just instinctively grabbed my phone to take with me. That’s weird. Why do you need a phone in the bathroom? I’ll say it again–it’s weird. We’ve all experienced someone talking on the phone while using a public bathroom, that’s weird. Why is texting any different. The person won’t notice if you’re text is two minutes later than normal.
  4. Do you go to sleep and wake up looking at your phone? I used to do this all the time. It’s really bad for your sleep and your health. I think this also says a lot about our priorities and obsessions. We’re so focused on not missing anything on social media that we have to check as soon as we wake up and we’re hesitant to put our phones down at night. It’s ridiculous. Nothing that important is going to happen in the 5-7 hours you’re in bed.

I’m really proud of the progress I’ve made and hope that you guys are at least more conscious of your technology use. Let me know in the comments what kind of progress you guys have made and if you have any suggestions for next weeks post!

Leave a Reply

