Snackin’ Away the Stress

Sadly, going out to the park today was a bust. Since I didn’t get a chance to relax out in nature, I decided to get rid of my stresses in the next best way: eating! That’s right, I decided to make a big batch of marshmallow crispy treats.

IMG_6014

Yuuuuuuuuum

I decided on marshmallow crispy treats for a number of reasons:

  1. I was craving something sweet and crunchy.
  2. It costs $5 for all of the materials needed.
  3. They take 15 minutes to make.
  4. Everyone should know how to make them.

Let’s start with materials: All you need is butter, mini marshmallows, and your cereal of choice. I used Fruity Pebbles, but most people use Rice Krispies. I’m pretty convinced that you can use absolutely any cereal you want, though that’s not confirmed.

For measurements and directions I followed this recipe. Here’s the thing though; making these delicious little squares only takes about 15 minutes. I originally wanted to make them with my roommates. We could turn on some music, get messy, and use the time just chatting and snacking. Turns out none of them could make them with me though, so it was a solo adventure.

The other thing I wanted to do to try and stretch this time out was make cute little critters out of the half-chilled treats. It was really fun playing with the treats like Play-Doh. What wasn’t fun was the sad little dinosaur that resulted from it.

This is the sad little dinosaur. Next time I'll just stick to hearts.

This is my sad little dinosaur. He looks more like a blob.

All in all, it was fun to make something so easy and delicious. I suggest that if you want to disconnect like this get a big group of friend together and all agree on not using electronics. Maybe make a bet and have whoever checks their phone first have to buy all the materials (it’s super cheap). Don’t be afraid to get messy when mixing everything up. When you have to wait for the treats to cool just chill out and talk to each other. When was the last time you and your friends had a conversation without someone checking their phone for messages, anyway? Once they’re a bit chilled try your hand at making a dinosaur (or anything else). I think it’s physically impossible to be worse than me at it.

Pretty much, just have fun and get messy with this. An hour will go by in no time!

Also, a little bonus here:

Kirsten Dunst was just featured in a short film about being so wrapped up in getting likes and taking selfies that we’re barely present in our real life experiences. I really suggest checking it out.

Leave a Reply

